Also the point about fasting from flesh is one that strikes me hard every time I think of it.
From the USCCB's Lent FAQ:
Abstinence laws consider that meat comes only from animals such as chickens, cows, sheep or pigs — all of which live on land. Birds are also considered meat. Abstinence does not include meat juices and liquid foods made from meat. Thus, such foods as chicken broth, consomme, soups cooked or flavored with meat, meat gravies or sauces, as well as seasonings or condiments made from animal fat are technically not forbidden. However, moral theologians have traditionally taught that we should abstain from all animal-derived products (except foods such as gelatin, butter, cheese and eggs, which do not have any meat taste). Fish are a different category of animal. Salt and freshwater species of fish, amphibians, reptiles, (cold-blooded animals) and shellfish are permitted.
|In America, fasting from meat led to the fish fry as a|
Lenten tradition. (Public domain photo.)
I think the main reason, though I now have lost the place I originally read this, is that the original intent of fasting from meat is that we are fasting from ... flesh.
It is because Christ put on flesh to become man that we fast from it in penance for what He went through on our behalf.
A lovely connection isn't it?
At least it is to me.
And to have to dig into each ingredient turns it into an exercise in scrupulosity for me. I like that they make it easy for us that way.
I've always cooked with those sorts of guidelines for Friday fast days (heck, every Friday is a fast from meat at our house). So it's nice to see it spelled out ... no need for any vestiges of guilt when I put a bit of lard in our refried beans for those nachos!